Lorenzo Feliciati: Rumble

Lorenzo Feliciati: RumbleRumble marks the return in the studio of eclectic Lorenzo Feliciati, one of the greatest bass players in Italy, and rightfully recognized outside his country, due to his collaborations with Bob Mintzer (Yellowjackets) Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson), Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa, Allan Holdsworth), Cuong Vu (Pat Metheny Group), Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Steve Jansen (Japan), and Martin Verdonk (Prince, Chaka Khan, Stevie Winwood), and countless Italian artists, just to name a few.

Rumble takes the shape of a four-track EP and represents a real musical evolution, compared to Feliciati’s previous works. The roster of musicians is quite impressive and includes drummer Jason JT Thomas (Snarky Puppy, FORQ, Roy Hargrove), taking the role of the powerful engine that pushes the music with such a groove and finesse all over the parts of every track. The Koi Horn Section (Stan Adams / Trombone, Pierluigi Bastioli / Bass Trombone, Duilio Ingrossom / Baritone Sax) also has a highly important role in defining the overall sound of the record. Aidan Zammit composed the parts and directed the section.

The EP offers a wide spectrum of Feliciati’s abilities, both as a composer and a bass player, that allowed him to enter the world of
music with a really definite voice and many stories to tell.

His compositions speak for him and expand the boundaries of his many talents.

The title refers to the deep gurgling sound of trembling earth, the resonant turmoil feeling produced by something majestic, like a herd of ​elephants on the run.

The first track, “​Art of Mistake,”​ is a wonderful introduction to this new ‘rumbling’ world. The funk/orchestral vibe is beautifully led by electric bass and drums, with a strong horn presence (The Koi Horn Section) throughout the whole composition. The main theme is articulated and keeps the tension really high until the very last note, where Feliciati changes the image spectrum with his double bass, along with Alessandro Gwis’s piano and electronics.

“Five Enemies”​ keeps the orchestral vibe constant, while the fat snare sound is a perfect complement to Feliciati’s bass timbre and its intricate line and the obsessive main keyboards line.

The main theme has a contemporary ‘NYC streets’ kind of vibe enriched by 70s nuances, with a quite crucial role of The Koi Horn Section to set the general feel.

“Force Quit”​ lowers the tension with its relaxed and fascinating theme that grows slowly, with the support of Martin Verdonk’s percussion, and the guitar that gently fills the remaining space left by the airy theme. The break that occurs at 2:56 is really effective, and throws the listener in a different direction, giving them the desire to follow the story until its highly charged ending.

The title track​ ​”Rumble”​ turns the tables again, by showing its articulate character that somehow reminds King Crimson.

Feliciati’s bass has a really important role here, despite the elusive theme that perfectly fits the dark horn sound, and the obsessive rhythm of the drums. Orchestral sounds complete the spectrum in a very beautiful way.

Buy/Listen to Rumble:


Rumble EP Track List:

  1. Art of Mistake
  2. Five Enemies
  3. Force Quit
  4. Rumble

Get updates from the bass community.

Get the latest music, lessons, and more in your inbox every week.

Share Your Thoughts